blogging / dementia / elderly parents

What year is it?

My dad was in the emergency room twice last week.  The first time was because of a fall (getting into bed) and a follow up the next for a CT scan because he was acting stranger than usual.

The nurses getting my dad checked in on Friday started out by getting him comfortable and asking him questions. Went something like this:

Nurse:  Hi Sir, can you tell me your name?

Dad:  Gerard

Nurse: Can you tell me your birth date?

Dad:  May 14, 1927

Nurse:  Can you tell me the year?

Dad:  Hmm.  No.  Don’t think I can. I’m not sure.

Nurse:  Ok.  Thanks very much!

The nurses leave the room, and my dad looks at me and just shrugs his shoulders.  No big deal.

About 10 minutes later, the nurse comes back and asks the same questions:

Nurse:  Hi Sir, can you tell me your name?

Dad:  Gerard

Nurse: Can you tell me your birth date?

Dad:  May 14, 1927

Nurse:  Can you tell me the year?

Dad: Well, if I didn’t know 10 minutes ago, I’m pretty sure I don’t know now either!

Everyone in the room and on the floor outside that could hear him burst into laughter.  He’s doing a lot better and recovering from an UTI.  The skin tear is ugly and we’ll be going back to the would care center later this week.

 

 

3 thoughts on “What year is it?

I like hearing from you, please leave a comment ...

