blogging / random / thursday thirteen

Thirteen (things about me) on Thursday

  1.  I recently moved back to Florida and am living with my parents in my retirement.  Looking after things here is a full-time job. Not exactly what I thought I would be doing in my retirement.  But, the rent is cheap!
  2. My household effects were delivered the beginning of July and I still have about 45 boxes to unpack.  The garage is a mess.
  3. As I unpack, I’making a giant pile of stuff to sell at a yardsale. I’m running out of room for the stuff I need to unpack and the stuff I want to sell.
  4. Auggie is loving being in Florida full-time.  He goes crazy when anyone comes to the house.  He’s a 105 pound menace with a whip for a tail.
  5. Auggie’s current hang-up?  He won’t go out in the yard after dark by himself — this thanks to a trigger-happy neighbor who decided to shoot up his front porch at 10:30 p.m. while Auggie was in the yard looking for a spot to water!  Poor guy has “after dark performance issues.”
  6. I can’t believe that I’m going to say this, but “I can’t wait for winter.”  Then again, winter in Florida is waaaaayyyyy different than in winter in Virginia.
  7. I’m selling things on eBay again, and have started using Craigslist, too.  So far, so good.  I am a bit overwhelmed with the amount of things I want to get rid of.  Also, do you know how much stuff you can fit under a bed?  Lots!
  8. I’ve been retired since the end of February, and guess what?  I don’t miss work at all.  I miss the people, but not the hassle of the traffic or the work itself.  This kind of amazes me. I really though that by now I’d be going crazy with boredom.  Nope.  Not yet.
  9. I have become a CNN addict.  I fall asleep and wake to the likes of Anderson Cooper and Don Lemon.
  10. This time next year, I hope to be in Ireland with my sister for a visit.  I lived there in the early 1990s and again in the early 2000’s.  My sister has never been.  I can’t wait to introduce her to the land of our ancestors!
  11. I am feeling nostalgic and wish there was a Neisner’s or F.W. Woolworth’s around. I loved shopping there as a kid. The dollar stores of today just don’t do it for me.
  12. Anyone remember Tangee lipstick?  They’re making Tangee makeup again and you can buy it from The Vermont Store.
  13. Hmmm.  Off to shop The Vermont Store.  Love it!

 

New Thursday 13 

2 thoughts on “Thirteen (things about me) on Thursday

  1. I’m CERTAIN that I will NOT miss the wonderful world of work, when the time comes (pretty soon, actually). I could drive to the (original) Vermont Store inside of an hour. Very cool spot, actually.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. hello two barking dogs its dennis the vizsla dog hay dada sez they had a neisners in the mithikal sitty of whitesboro wen he wuz a kid!!! but that he had no ideea that their wer other wuns!!! evidently he did not git owt mutch!!! ha ha ok bye

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.