black lab / dog behavior / puppy

Smart Dog!

I always thought that Clover was the smartest dog I ever knew.  I have had to change my view on that since Auggie arrived on the scene.

In the eight weeks that I’ve had Auggie, I have decided that he is way smarter than Clover was, and outshines Cosmo considerably.

So far, he has learned how to:

  • sit – took 30 minutes;
  • down – took about an hour;
  • come – about 5 minutes (and a bag of treats);
  • ring the bell at the back door when he wants to go out to potty – one day (and another bag of treats);
  • shake – about an hour;
  • high five – 10 minutes;
  • ask (bark on command with a hand signal) – 10 minutes;
  • leave it (yeah, right! Auggie has not grasped this idea yet);
  • and,
  • drop it (Oh, boy.  This one would sure come in handy if it would just take.)
  • leave it (Oh, yeah. This one.)

Now, if anyone has any advice on how to convince Auggie to stop eating mulch, twigs, and chewing on me, I would appreciate it very much.

Thank you.

DSC_1362

3 thoughts on “Smart Dog!

  1. Shake! ARG! Dexter, who is actually the most clever black lab in the world, resists that trick. I assume it is because he finds it foolish. But Auggie sure is smart and it is fun to teach tricks to an eager student. Hopefully he will outgrow the reckless consumption of the landscape.

    Mango Momma

    Like

Comments are closed.