blogging / lab rescue / labrador retriever

foster a labrador

It is a year since I had to have put Clover down, and Cosmo and I miss her every day.  Its really amazing how an animal can endear itself to you and become such an important part of your life.  I could make a list of all the things about Clover that I don’t miss, but that would be unkind to talk bad of the dead and my mom would be pissed at me.

I’ve been thinking about getting another dog, and have been trolling the rescue groups in my area for weeks now looking for a non-puppy, calm-ish dog that really needs a home.  Looking at how many dogs in shelters and rescue situations is very discouraging and makes me want to cry when I read some of their stories.

What the hell is wrong with people?  CraigsList is a haven for people that are trying to rehome their dogs (and cats). For God’s sake, if you are moving, would you re-home your children because you chose to move into an apartment that didn’t allow children?  A normal person would find a place that allowed children (dogs)!

Can you imagine where this conversation is going?

I’ve been approved to adopt or foster with the local Lab Rescue group and hope to get a dog in a couple of weeks!

Cosmo and I are looking forward to having the companionship of another dog even if it is temporary.  I am not planning on being a “foster failure” but worse things could happen!

Stay tuned …

Sharing this great graphic that I found online attributed to ARF.

rescue_dogs_cost

