1950's / 1960's / happenstance / precognition

Precognition? or Happenstance? No. 8

Yesterday at work, I had a conversation with one of my colleagues about my recent visit to Florida to see my parents.  I have mentioned recently that my parent are petty old?  That they are kind of stuck in their ways?  Not open to new experiences like maybe watching something other than westerns like Bonanza, The Lawman, or anything non-John Wayne-related ?

The conversation moved towards some of the old shows from the 1950’s and ’60s that were popular, and how The Virginian was a real favorite.  “Q” says “What was the name of the guy that was in the Rifleman?  I loved that show!  You know the one I’m talking about .. quick Google it so I don’t go crazy trying to remember his name.”

Courtesy of Google, I now had all of the info on the Rifleman, and we both agreed that Chuck Connors was “THE MAN” and how we both had enjoyed watching the show as kids.

The conversation moved on, the phone started ringing, and voila! back to work and not giving much thought to the conversation.

Fast forward about 10 hours.

When I got home, I fired up the laptop and checked e-mail, deleted spam postings from the blog, played a game of Scrabble on Facebook, and went to look around on my Tumblr accounts.  I love Tumblr.  Its fun to follow someone, see where they are going with their art, photography, writing, etc.

Zipping through Tumblr rather quickly, I skid to stop as this photograph popped in my feed:

tumblr_mjycasmLVU1r47i99o1_500

Precognition? or Happenstance?  I don’t know.  It is just plain weird!

One thought on “Precognition? or Happenstance? No. 8

  1. When I was growing up in England we used to watch all those old westerns. My Dad, an English policeman, loved his Westerns and he was a big John Wayne fan. My mother was smitten with Clint Walker from Cheyenne. Consequently all our rabbits had names like, Sugarfoot, Cheyenne, Rowdy, you name it we had a rabbit with its name. The Rifleman was pretty popular too. Funny about that picture popping up but I remember it well.

    Like

Comments are closed.