jim henson / jim morrison / paris / pere lachaise cemtery / the doors / the muppets

Jim Morrison Was A Muppet

This is a true conversation between myself and one of my younger (30-ish) colleagues.  Sara just got back from a trip, and is getting ready for another 7-day working trip to Paris, France.

Me:  Hey! Welcome Back!  I hear you are traveling again soon, where to this time?

Sarah:  Yep!  Off in a couple of days for Paris – again.

Me:  I love Paris! Its one of my favorite places in the whole world.  

Sarah:  Don’t get me wrong, I like Paris.  I’ve been there, done that, and got the t-shirt for Paris.  I was hoping for something a little more challenging this time.

Me:  What about doing something different? Hit some of the not-so-touristy spots in Paris when you have free time?  See something different this time?

Sarah:  Huh?

Me:  How about going to Pere Lachaise Cemetery and visit the grave of Jim Morrison.  His fans have it set up as a shrine.  There are a lot of famous people buried at Pere Lachaise.  

Sarah: [with a look of total confusion on her face] Jim Morrison?  Isn’t he the guy that invented the Muppets?

Me:  Huh?  What?  You’re kidding right?

Sarah:  [looking even more confused] I thought the Muppets guy was American.  How come he’s buried in a cemetery in Paris?

Me:  Arrrrgh!  Jim Morrison!  The Doors!  1960’s rock and roll legend?  The “Muppets Guy” was Jim Henson.  [another colleague pipes up with “You know–Val Kilmer played him in the movie, “The Doors.]

Sarah:  [looking totally lost] Val Kilmer? Isn’t he fat and old?  Was he in a movie about the Muppets?  Anyway, I’ve never heard of this Jim Morrison guy.  So, he had nothing to do with the Muppets?  Oh well.  If the Muppets guy was buried in this cemetary, I’d go visit his grave.

Me:  [banging my head on my desk]  Never mind.  

3 thoughts on “Jim Morrison Was A Muppet

  1. I can send her my map. :) I still have it . And the leaves that were on the grave. Do you remember the guy with the tissues up his nose? LOL :) Best trip in my lifetime. XOXO

    Like

Comments are closed.