black labs / blogging / Dogs

Clover’s Last Pose for the Camera

Clover's Last Pose for the Camera

A big bump on Clover’s butt turned out to be a mast cell tumor, and a mighty big one at that. After lots of tests, and some bad results, I decided that her quality of life was much more important than putting her through some serious operations that most likely wouldn’t make a bit of difference in the end.

She was an extremely bold puppy that turned into an excellent dog and best friend. I’m going to miss her tremendously.

It is very quiet here at the moment as Cosmo and I try to adjust.

June 15, 2001 (Dublin, Ireland) ~ July 30, 2012 (Fairfax, Virginia)

 

24 thoughts on “Clover’s Last Pose for the Camera

  1. So very sorry about Clover. : ( She was a great dog who had a great family that loved her dearly. I hope Cosmo isn’t too lonely without her. : /

    Like

  2. It all happened so fast. Barely time to absorb it, but I know that you made the right decision for Clover (even though it broke your heart). She is running free, out of pain, and watching over you, always.

    Mango Momma

    Like

  3. Mango’s Momma told us about this sad news and we wanted to stop by to tell you how sorry we are for your loss.
    Run Free Clover..until we all meet again at the Rainbow Bridge!
    Winston, Chloe, Cecil and Mom Shawn

    Like

  4. We are so sorry to hear about Clover, but am happy that she didn’t have to suffer. In time, may memories of the good times you had together bring smiles instead of tears.

    You are in our thoughts and prayers,
    Elaine, Sunshade & Jaffa

    Like

  5. I applaud your choice…quality is so important

    We are sorry the end came so quickly…I would expect you are still expecting it to be some sad surreal dream

    I am sure Clover will enjoy a special Full Moon pawty at The Rainbow Bridge

    Khyra’s Mom

    Like

  6. We are so very sorry to hear of Clovers passing! Mom says that us furbabies leave pawprints on our humans heart! We know Clover has left a paw print on your heart! Rest in Peace sweet Clover. You were dearly loved and will never be forgotten!

    Woof

    Velcro, Ceilidh and Jack Sparrow

    Like

    • I am so sorry to hear about this. But you can rest assured that she had a great life with you and that you did the right thing by her. As hard as it was, it was the right thing and she would be thankful that you loved her enough/so much. Hugs to you and Cosmo.

      Like

  7. I just met you here and learning of your sorrow. It is so hard to lose a pet. They are just as much of your family as a person, huh. I had two cats for 16 and18 years. They were bro & sis and I had the fixed young so they would stick around… and they did for years and years. I should open a blog just about them, huh? Good luck to you.

    Like

  8. Oh, I am so sorry. There’s just no way to prepare for life without such a dear friend. As hard as it was, it certainly sounds like you made the best decision for your friend.

    Like

  9. Please accept my sincere condoleances for your loss. My 6 year-old female dog is currently at the veterinary hospital due to epilectic seizures and one of the vets told me that she suspects a brain tumor; therefore, I understand you very well :(

    Like

  10. We bond so with our fur-babies, and losing one is so very painful – that empty place now in your heart…..take time to heal, then think about giving another pup the wonderful life you gave to Clover….

    Like

  11. so sorry.. I too had an amazing lab with mast cell tumors…two surgeries bought her 8 months of quality time,,when the big one came back we knew it was time to let Mollie go..gone in my life but forever in my heart
    Good Golly Miss Mollie..1992-2001

    Like

Comments are closed.