washington d.c. / weather

You are # 36 in the queue ….

We had some nasty weather here in Northern Virginia yesterday.  The temperature hit a high of 104 degrees with horrible humidity.  Then, some nasty weather last night including high winds and driving rain.  When I left work, the lightning and thunder were still bouncing around, but most of the intense rain had passed by.

Trees were knocked down, branches and leaves littered the streets.  Low spots on the roads were flooded.  Traffic lights were out.  Highways and roads were blocked.  Port-a-Potties set up for the 4th of July festivities on The Mall in D.C. were blown into the street and blocked an intersection on Constitution Avenue.  Tents and fences set up along The Mall were blown over and some were twisted like pretzels.  I would have taken photos, but I was too busy dodging debris!

Work to home on a normal Friday evening barring any road construction?  35 minutes.

Work to home last night?  2 hours.

I am feeling pretty lucky.  No damage to the house, just a mess to clean up in the yard, and I have electricity.  I have internet access and spotty cell phone service, but no television or home phone.  Weird, huh?  Especially when you consider I had phone, internet, and t.v. at 4 a.m., but not at 11:00 a.m.

So.  I thought I would contact Verizon on-line to see if I could find out when service would be back on.  Since I couldn’t get through on the cell phone, I tried the internet, and this is what I got:

So, I thought I would wait it out … I went from 6 minutes 57 seconds

to 18 minutes

to 27 minutes

to 38 minutes

(hey wait a minute … isn’t the countdown supposed to go the other way?)

to 32 minutes

to 38 minutes

back down to 20, 18, up to 38, back down to 7

THEN !! Voila!  a nice person came on to say Hi! How Can I help you?

And in typical Verizon form .. instead of answering my question … she said “Hang on a minute while I transfer you to John.”

She transferred me to John … who said “Hi! How can I help you?”

Oye!

And the conversation went on… to be told:

“Thanks for your patience ….Our technicians are working on the problems in your area.”

I’m not really complaining (really) … very happy I have electricity.  And Internet.  I really should be doing laundry and some vacuuming and some picking up, etc.,

I think I’ll go play Gin on Pogo instead.

(oh yeah, it took 32 minutes before I got to talk to John.)

One thought on “You are # 36 in the queue ….

  1. hello two barking dogs its dennis the vizsla dog hay that is sum crazy kind of kowntdown yoo went thru their!!! dada sez it is microsoft time i hav no ideea wot he is tawking abowt as yoozhual!!! i am glad that yoo did not looze elektrissity tho it is a gud thing to hav!!! ok bye

    Like

Comments are closed.