alzheimers / conversations / elderly parents / kfc

NO MORE CHICKEN!

This is the conversation I had with my mom this morning,

Mom:  Your father yelled at me again yesterday! 

Me:  What was it about this time?

Mom:  I bought a couple of subs at Publix yesterday and brought one home for Pat and Joe [her sister and brother-in-law], and I brought one home for your dad. It had chicken tenders, lettuce and tomatoes, black olives and Itlaian dressing on it.

Mom:  He yells at me “NO MORE CHICKEN!  I HATE CHICKEN.  YOU KNOW THAT I HATE CHICKEN!” 

Me:  Well, you do know how he feels about chicken. He’s been like this for a long time, now.

Mom:  He really pissed me off. I told him, “Fine.  If that’s the way you feel, then take me out to lunch.” 

This is how my conversation with your dad went:

I Said:  Well, if you’re not going to eat the chicken sub, then get up and get dressed.  We’re going out to lunch.

He Said:  Ok.  Where do you want to go

I Said:  The place on the river with the fish and chips that you like

He Said:  Ok. I like that place

I Said: I can’t find the coupon for that place. 

He Said:  Forget it then.  How about we get a bucket of chicken from The Colonel instead?

I Said:  OOOOOOkkkkkkkk then. 

Me:  hahahahahahahah!  Did he even realize what he said? 

Mom:  Yeah, he knew, but I didn’t say a freaking word. 

Me:  hahahahahahaha!  Face it mom, your chicken just doesn’t compare to Kentucky Fried Chicken!!

Mom:  Butt-head.

