black labs / labrador retriever / weather

Burning Up Over Here

The heat here in Northern Virginia is just as bad as the news is reporting.  It is debiltating.  It is humid and hot, and just plain miserable for man and beast.

Last night when I went to bed, I set the thermostat at 75, and I put the ceiling fan on medium.  I was comfortable enough when I finally fell asleep, that was until I woke up at 5:00 a.m. thinking that I was having the mother of a hot flash, or the central air was kaput. 

When I got up, to check the thermostat downstairs, I figured I would let the dogs out, and gave them a call to go downstairs with me.  Cosmo jumped from his spot at the foot of the bed, but I had to go look for Clover.  Its unusual for her to ignore me.

I looked in the closet, and the bath tub.  No Clover.  I looked in the guest room, and the tv room.  No Clover.  At last, I looked over my shoulder, and there she was lying flat on top of the a/c floor vent in my bedroom. 

I walked over to check on her, she was wide awak and watching me, and she started beating the floor with her tail like she was a drummer in a marching band.  I bent down and gave her cold belly a rub, and I coaxed her downstairs with a promise of a treat. 

Tonight, I’m going to have to figure out a way to keep her from suffocating me.

One thought on “Burning Up Over Here

  1. Frasier and MaggieMoo say that Clover is a very smart dog and she found the best spot in the house!

    Like

Comments are closed.