black labs / ireland / labrador retriever

Clover In Her Element; or, “Hey, Mermaidog, Send Me Back My Frisbee”

connemara clover 

This is not the greatest photo, but I appreciate it anyway.  This is Clover in Ireland when she was almost a year old.  It is the very first time she saw so much water, and she enjoyed the freedom of running down the hill, and jumping in for a swim.  The water is a small lake or catchment off of the Ballynahinch River in Recess, Co. Connemara in the West of Ireland.  If you take a close look, you can see that she was suffering from “cold tail” syndrome, but that didn’t stop her.  

When I threw the frisbee for her, the current took it right off, and she listened to me when I told her to “leave it”, but that didn’t mean she couldn’t look for it, hoping it would float back closer to her!  

Clover the Mermaidog of Connemara vs. The Mermaid of Denmark 

The Little Mermaid, Copenhagen, Denmark

The Little Mermaid, Copenhagen, Denmark

Clover, The Mermaid of Connemara
Clover, The Mermaid of Connemara, Ireland
10 thoughts on “Clover In Her Element; or, “Hey, Mermaidog, Send Me Back My Frisbee”

  1. Clover you’re a merdog! Wow I always wanted to meet a merdog. Bet if I fell in the pool you would save me! :)

    Dreamin of my merdog Clover,
    Roo

    Like

  2. beautiful setting… and I don’t know what you mean when you say it’s not a great photo – I love the composition and mood of the image.

    Like

Comments are closed.