blogging / conversations / elderly parents / family dynamics

Another Conversation with My Mom; or, “yadda yadda yadda, bada bing bing bing, doo wop doo wop, la la la la la”

I have always been fascinated by my dad’s ability to filter and tune out me, my sister or mother.  He’s so good at it, that my mother has been convinced that he’s been going deaf for the last 50 years.

It wasn’t until a recent conversation with my mother, that I realized, I am my father’s daughter.  I had a 20-minute conversation with my mom where we discussed the usual stuff like:

How they were feeling; How I was feeling; How the dogs were doing in the heat; Did you hear your sister had a job interview and it sounds promising?  She proceeded to update me on my 19-year-old niece and how much she likes her job.

My mom soon turned the conversation to my sister’s ex-husband.  And this is what I heard:

Mom:  He hasn’t paid his mortgage in months … blah blah blah blah blah.  Blah blah told Courtney (my niece) she had to move out and get her own place.  Can you believe that crap?

Me:  Uh huh.

Mom: And then he said blah blah blah blah yadda yadda yadda, bada bing bing bing, doo wop doo wop, la la la la la.  And then he did blah blah blah blah yadda yadda yadda, bada bing bing bing, doo wop doo wop, la la la la la.  And then he blah blah blah blah yadda yadda yadda, bada bing bing bing, doo wop doo wop, la la la la la.

Mom:  Can you believe that?

Me:  Uh huh.  Ok, mom.  I need to go get ready for work now. Talk with you tomorrow.  Love ‘ya.

Mom: Ok. Love ‘ya.

6 thoughts on “Another Conversation with My Mom; or, “yadda yadda yadda, bada bing bing bing, doo wop doo wop, la la la la la”

  1. aw, see, now whenever I do that “yeah I’m listening” noise, it’s always something important that can’t be answered with an “uh-huh” and then I get the “STEPHANIE! are you listening to me?!”

    Like

Comments are closed.