hey harriet / shadow shot sunday

Hey Harriet! Check out the old San Francisco de Assisi Mission Church

I took this photo way back when we used cameras with film.  You remember those don’t you?  You sent your photos off to be developed and you had to wait forever to get them back.  I’ve visited New Mexico a few times, so I’m having a hard time dating when I took the photo, and the best I can come up with is the early 1980’s.  What I do know, is each and every time I stopped at this church, it was closed.  I always thought it would have been great to go services there, but never timed it right.

The San Francisco de Assisi Mission Church was built between 1772 and 1816 by the Spanish.  It has been photographed by Ansel Adams (and me), and painted by Georgia O’Keefe, too.   The church is located off of NM 68 in Rancho de Taos, which is about 5 miles south of Taos, New Mexico.

And, if the light is just right, you get some pretty shadows, too. Small ones, but they’re there adding some mystery to the old church.  Don’t you think?


9 thoughts on “Hey Harriet! Check out the old San Francisco de Assisi Mission Church

  1. What beautiful shots, funny how quickly we forget those days of having to get our photos developed. And then we would take shots and leave the film in a drawer somewhere and months or years later get them developed .

    Like

Comments are closed.