blogging / commentary

justwhoisstupidnow?

I went for my x-ray on Monday morning at the office near my house.  When I walked in, I spoke with the same lady that I had dealt with on Friday of last week.  I opened my greeting with, “Hi, remember me?”  To which she replied, “No. Not really.”  At that point, I was thinking, “Oh boy, this is going to get ugly.”  The lady found the order in the computer, I got my x-ray, about six people apologized to me for the hassles of last week, I accepted their apology, never raised my voice, and moved on.

After I finished there, I decided to get a few groceries at Trader Joe’s.  I haven’t been shopping in about three weeks.  I can go without a lot of things, but once the half-and-half is gone, I HAVE to go grocery shopping.  I spent $78 at TJ’s, and got almost everything I needed/wanted for the next week or so.

When I got home, I unloaded the car, let the dogs out, let the dogs back in, started to put the refrigerated items away when I realized there were a few nasty things in the fruit/veggie drawer that needed to be tossed.  All the time, I’m sitting on a chair in front of the fridge, with a bag and going through the stuff to toss, Cosmo has his head in there looking for little bits of cheese.

I got everything sorted out, put the trash out to the curb, came back in the house and had a nice cold water.  After about 20 minutes, I had this revelation that half of my groceries (all of the cold/frozen stuff) were missing.  I got the TJ receipt out, went through my fridge and cupboard.  I checked the car – nothing.  I checked the bags in the kitchen – empty.  I checked the car again – not losing my mind they weren’t in the car anywhere.  Shit.

I called TJ’s and told them that I didn’t get half of what I had paid for, to which I was told that nothing had been left behind, or found in the parking lot, but if I brought the receipt in at my convenience, they would replace everything that I was missing.  It made me feel better, and I wasn’t as annoyed as I was when I started on the great quest of “Finding the missing groceries.”

A couple of hours later, I’m on my way out the door for work, and took another quick look in the car as if the bag of groceries might appear mysteriously, and when I spotted the trash can, I thought, “No.  I didn’t, did I?”

I opened the can, and there were my groceries sitting amongst the moldy vegetables, dog poopy bags, and fly family infestation.  My first thought was, “Shit! ” and “Don’t I feel stupid?”

I called the guy at TJ’s and told him what happened so he wouldn’t get in trouble. He said, “Awww. I’m sorry.  I bet things like that happen all the time …” (Not to me!)  When I told my mom, she said “Awww.  I do crap like that all of the time.” (Yeah, mom, but your 80 years old! and I’m not!)

Still no word about the x-ray results, and I am about to embark on maneuvering through the telephone tree from hell to leave a message for the doctor to see what is going on.  If you don’t hear from me for a while, just follow the trail of bread crumbs … that is of course if Clover hasn’t eaten them.

3 thoughts on “justwhoisstupidnow?

Comments are closed.