blogging / conversations / parents

Another Conversation with My Mom; or, “I want some ice cream!”

My mom is kind of annoyed with my dad lately. It seems to me that she should realize that after 58 years of marriage, my dad is pretty well set in his ways.  He’s a stay-at-home kind of guy, and the older (and sicker) he gets the more noticeable this is.  My mom, on the other hand, is a get up, go go go type.  Always has been, and always will be. 

So, here’s the latest conversation:

Me:  Hey mom, how’s everything?

Mom:  Ok.  We’re doing ok this morning. Can you believe that we slept until 10 this morning?   The only reason I woke up at 10 was because Misty (the dog) was trying to push me off the bed.  She wanted my pillow.  I can’t figure it out, she goes to sleep on the floor, and when I wake up she’s on the bed. 

Me:  What are you going to do today?

Mom:  Well  What I’d like to do and what I’m going to end up doing are two different things, aren’t they?

Me:  What do you mean?

Mom:  Well.  Its your father.  I try to get him up and moving and is it too much to ask that once and a while he gets out of the house to do something? Last week, I tricked him into lunch at that pizza place in town.  I told him I didn’t feel well, and that he needed to drive me to Publix and when we got there, he waited in the car while I shopped.  I had to force him to go into the restaurant for lunch  And, guess what?  When the food came, he was thrilled because the pizza was so good, and he made some stupid comment like “How come we never ate here before?”  SERIOUSLY?  I’ve been trying to get him to eat there for years!

Me:  Well, that’s the way dad is.  He’s always been that way. 

Mom:  That’s for sure.  So, I told him today that he was going to take me for lunch again, and he about freaked out on me again. 

Me:  Why don’t you ask him to take you for some ice cream, and then go for a walk on the riverfront? 

Mom:  That’s a good idea, but how do I get him to take me for ice cream?  He’ just say, “You go and bring me back some.” 

Me:  Hmm.  You could tell him that you were pregnant and needed some pickle flavored ice cream and they only sell that at the Baskin-Robbins in town.

Mom:  Haha!   Smart ass. I have to hang up now, I just pee’d in my pants.

4 thoughts on “Another Conversation with My Mom; or, “I want some ice cream!”

Comments are closed.