blogging

Exactly How Many Jars of Pickles Do You Need?

I just got back from visiting my folks in Florida.  One of the highlights of my regular visits is the couple of hours I spend cleaning out the refrigerator.  For some reason, this job has become mine, and I am reminded that its “time to clean out the fridge” at about day two of my visit.  I don’t mind, but sometimes I wonder if they ever throw anything away, or do they save it all up for me?

So, I pulled up a chair, and got to work.  I threw away expired stuff, moldy stuff, little containers of unidentifiable stuff, smelly stuff, and just more dried up apples than any one person should have to deal with in a lifetime.  I even cleaned out the freezer this visit.  Its amazing how many half opened packages of vegetables can fit in a side-by-side freezer.

I don’t mind reorganizing and putting some order to the mess.  I don’t mind cleaning the fridge drawers and shelves.  What I do find interesting is the pickle collection.  I mean, seriously, just how many jars of pickles do you really “need” anyway?

My mom had already thrown away four jars of pickle juice before I could snap this photo.  She was slightly embarrassed when she realized that one whole shelf of the fridge was taken up with pickles and relish.  My dad walked in at one point, and I asked him what was going on with the pickle farm in the fridge.  He said that he told my mom a couple of months ago that he really liked a good pickle with his sandwich at lunch.  I guess that explains it all.

4 thoughts on “Exactly How Many Jars of Pickles Do You Need?

  1. That’s hysterical! I have some sort of weird obsession about only have one thing open at a time and that would have driven me nuts! Lol!

    Like

  2. I must confess… I have at least that many pickle jars in my fridge also. Sweet pickles, baby dill pickles, bread and butter pickles, pickled beets, dilly bean pickles, sweet relish, dill relish, I can honestly say it is genetic though… I’m polish and german. So… What can I say?

    Like

Comments are closed.