black labs / dog anxiety / dog behavior / labrador retriever / Labrador Retrievers

Cosmo, Are You A Bully?

Photobucket

Who goes there? And, What's the Password of the Day?

I’ve noticed lately that Cosmo tends to run up the stairs ahead of me and Clover and he waits on the landing for us.  This is completely opposite of how I’ve trained them, which is for them to both wait for me to go up the stairs, and for them to follow – together.  Clover has been very hesitant lately, and will only follow me up the stairs after a few minutes.  So the order is Cosmo, me, and then Clover.  Clover’s behavior seemed a bit odd, but then she IS odd.

Yesterday, I left for work, and when I got to the car, I realized I forgot something that I needed to drop at the post office.  I was only gone for a couple of minutes, and when I approached the front door, I could hear Clover whining.  Clover is not a big whiner, she usually only does it when she’s sick, or if she wants back in the house.  I opened the door, and found Cosmo standing half-way up the landing, and Clover standing at the bottom of the stairs and whining.  It looked like he was blocking her from going up the stairs.

I called Cosmo back downstairs, made him sit and wait, and I tried to send Clover up the stairs so she could go hang out on her big chair, or in the closet.  She paced and whined for a minute or so, and then went into the living room and plopped down on her bed.

What the heck’s been going on around here when I’m at work?

10 thoughts on “Cosmo, Are You A Bully?

  1. Sounds like normal sibling rivalry to me…..good thing you came back in the house, sounds like Clover was telling on Cosmo.

    We’ve trained Sadie to follow behind us too but I noticed when the cats are around it’s a race to see who can get to the top of the stairs first!

    Like

  2. …and I forgot to mention my cat Shadow will run to the back door when Sadie goes out to go potty, she will park herself right in front of the door and won’t let Sadie get back in and Sadie is too afraid to pass by her.

    Even though Shadow is a small cat and Sadie is a big dog I think it’s because Shadow is the alpha of the two girls.

    Like

  3. It’s all fun and games until somebody loses the ability to go upstairs!

    This reminds me of the time Trixie physically prevented Pooh Bear from coming into the living room. Trixie didn’t do anything to the cat, she just stood in front of her, and every time the cat tried to go around the dog Trixie would move to block her again. Finally Pooh Bear gave up and went back down the hallway. I wish I had gotten that on video …

    Like

  4. I just came to your blog to find out if you are okay. I am sorry to hear about your diagnosis. I have two friends who have been diagnosed with MS as well. Both are pretty private about it and have told very few people. They are each on different meds and went through many different treatments before they found one that worked for them. I hope your case won’t be complicated and won’t affect you too much. Let me know if there is anything I can do. Take care!

    Michele

    Like

  5. Pecking order. I saw chaos in the household after Sprocket died. The two couldn’t figure it out. Daisy was much more “Alert” and food possessive. They have figured it out now.

    Like

Comments are closed.