florida / flowers / today's flowers

Jason’s Yellow Flowers Have Taken Over the Neighborhood ….

I took these photos when I was in Florida a few months ago.  Gosh, wish I was there now!

This cute little yellow flower is a menace.  About 25 years ago, I took my then-5-year-old nephew to the beach for the day.  We had a great time, and on the way back to the car, he bent down and plucked a small yellow flower from the side of the parking lot.  With a great big smile, he said he wanted to bring it home to Grandma and Grandpa.   Great!  All I could think of was getting arrested for picking flowers from a State park.  We made a fast escape, and when we got home, Jason walked over to a small plot of dirt and plants in the front yard, poked a hole in the ground, and planted the little yellow flower.  He asked me if I thought it would grow, and I said I thought it might just to make him happy, but I didn’t really think it would.

Now, fast-forward 25 years or so.  This little yellow flower has not only thrived, it has taken over.  Literally!  The small plot with this plant/flower now takes up about one-half of the front yard at my parents’ house.  It can be found in the swale in front of their house, and in front of every house and empty lot for blocks.  I really don’t know what the name of this plant/flower is, but while it is pretty, is extremely difficult to keep in check.

Jason is gone, but the flowers remain.

6 thoughts on “Jason’s Yellow Flowers Have Taken Over the Neighborhood ….

  1. Lovely yellow flowers brightens my early winter morning in Toronto, Canada.
    No snow to shovel but it is cold.
    I am sure your dogs love the snow like all Labradors do.

    Merry Christmas to you and to your family!

    Like

Comments are closed.