black labs / blogging / commentary / dog / dog behavior / labrador retriever / Labrador Retrievers / multiple sclerosis / old age / Pets / sick dog / thanksgiving

Welcome the New Sofa, Clover is Whingey, An Update …

newsofa

I like it. It is comfortable and looks good in my living room with the new paint scheme.  (Photo pilfered from the store’s web page.)  When they delivered it on Thursday, I had the dogs upstairs to keep them out of the way.  The delivery guys were here for all total 15 minutes, and when they left, I let the dogs back downstairs.  Cosmo wanted “out” so he could kill the dead shrubs just a little bit more.  When he came back in, he drank half a bowl of water in his usual sloppy way.  Slurp, slurp, drip, slobber.  I went into the living room and watched in disbelief as Cosmo, all sloppy and wet faced, walked over and rubbed his face down the front of the couch.

I love my dogs, I love my dogs, I love my dogs …

Last night, Clover whinged as she got up off the floor.  When I called her over to me, I gave her a good rub down/massage to see if I could tell what was bothering her.  She seems to be favoring her left shoulder, and for the life of me I can’t imagine why.  Did she fall down the stairs when I wasn’t looking? or maybe Cosmo body slammed her just a little bit too hard when they were playing?  Whatever the cause, she is sore and miserable, and very very needy at the moment.

I spoke to the vet on the phone, who reminded me that she’s 8 years old and she might have a touch of arthritis.  All of a sudden, just like that?  At the vet’s direction, I gave Clover 325 mg of buffered aspirin.  Hopefully, this will take the edge off for her, because as it is right now, she won’t go up or down the stairs and is sound asleep on the floor in the TV room upstairs.  If she thinks I am going to carry her down the stairs … she’s got another think coming!  The vet said she would call me tomorrow to check on Clover, and if she’s not better, then I’ll be bringing her in for a visit on Monday.  Crap.  Why do I see my big screen HD tv flying out the window, and in its place a well vetted Labrador Retriever with MRIs and x-rays in its stead?  Crap.

I was up and out of the house by 8:00 am this morning.  I got all of my Thanksgiving food shopping done, and was home by 11:00 am.  I love Wegmans!  They have a great de-boned honey brined turkey breast that is wonderful, so in the basket it went with a bunch of vegetables and other necessities.  It wasn’t until I got home and put everything away that I realized that Thanksgiving is the week AFTER next, not this coming Thursday.  Crap.  The turkey breast will be ok in the freezer for a few days, but I guess I will have to eat the pumpkin pie right away.  I’m SURE it won’t stay fresh until Thanksgiving.

I see the neurologist again on the 23rd of November.  I’m not wobbling as much as I was, but I can’t seem to rid myself of some other symptoms.  The latest?  My tongue feels numb around the edges, I have the shakes and tremors from time-to-time, and the vertigo is back.  I’m pretty sure I’ll be seeing Boris again before Christmas! Check in with me next week, I’ll undoubtedly have something new to report, because as you know, You Just Can’t Make This Crap Up!

Oh, yeah, almost forgot.  Its still raining.

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Welcome the New Sofa, Clover is Whingey, An Update …

  1. I know how your heart aches when you’re forced to realize that beloved doggie is getting old enough to have physical discomfort. My Boxer Max lived to be 11.5 yrs. He was a big boy and had arthritis problems too. Sounds like you are taking very good care of your doggie—and the love deepens.

    :)

    Like

Comments are closed.