blogging / humor / medical procedures / mri / ms / multiple sclerosis

Weebles Wobble But They Don’t Fall Down

I haven’t really felt like blogging much lately.  I have been very busy running back and forth to doctors’ appointments and such.  Do I write about it, or not? Do people that stop by my blog for a dog biscuit recipe really care what’s going on?  A few people have commented, and others have e-mailed me their concerns, but I haven’t really felt like writing about it.

So, here goes …

In the past few weeks, I’ve learned all kinds of new words and acronyms:nrn917-f4

  • My PCP sent me to a NEURO who noted all of my SX and sent me for MRIs and an LP and the DX is MS.

Seriously, you cannot make this crap up!  Need a translation?

  • My primary care physician sent me to a neurologist.  After a bunch of visits, testing which included a couple of MRIs, extensive blood work, nerve tests, and a lumbar puncture (spinal tap), the preliminary diagnosis is Multiple Sclerosis.

My first reaction was: ” Shit!”  My second reaction was: “Well Shit! At least I’m not going crazy!”   My third reaction was: “Well, Shit! I guess its better to get this at 52 years of age than at 22.”

I could go on and on about the symptoms I’ve been having, but I won’t.  I just want to tell everyone, I am not drunk, I just walk like I amWeebles Wobble But They Don’t Fall Down.  Well, not yet any way.

My dogs can tell that something is not right as they haven’t been getting their regular walks.  Cosmo has taken to sitting on my feet all of the time, and Clover seems very needy at the moment always wanting to sit next to me on the couch with her head in my lap.  I’m going to have to hire a dog walker pretty soon, or they might pack their bags and move to Florida to live with my parents.  I wouldn’t blame them one bit.

15 thoughts on “Weebles Wobble But They Don’t Fall Down

  1. Hey!

    Gosh…my heart goes out to you. I started to write you the story of an old friend of mine who had MS and beat it. But that may be the last thing you want to hear or discuss. I’m sure everyone will be coming out of the woodwork with “You might try this” and “You might try that”s. If you’d like to hear the story, let me know.

    Sending You Lots of Light!

    Like

  2. Oh, no. You’re in my thoughts as you come to terms with this. I’ve been looking for you and Tulip was looking for the dogs. Hang in there and keep us up to date on your health.

    Like

  3. I’m a long time lurker here. I’m very sorry to hear of your diagnosis. My MIL has MS and has had it since the age of 25. She is now 59.

    One of the things you have going for you IS Cosmo and Clover! It’s possible to train them to aid you as needed, to help steady you when you’re feeling a bit off balance. Also, if you want to train one or both of them to be your service dogs, you can check into Delta Society for more info.

    My MIL doesn’t have pets. My in-laws aren’t animal people, so I watch my MIL slowly sink into a depression and withdraw from the world to hermit away in her house. It is my sincere belief that pets do us a world of good in so many ways and you are blessed to have Cosmo and Clover.

    Like

  4. Thanks for the kind words! You’re right, I’m very lucky to have these two mutts .. I just wish I could get Clover to take Cosmo for a walk so I don’t feel so guilty at the moment …

    Like

  5. Sorry to hear about your diagnosis, but glad that you know what it is now. My sister-in-law was diagnosed with MS a number of years ago (not at 22, but not a whole lot older than that either). I’m glad you have your pups to keep you company and keep your spirits up.

    If I’d known this on Sunday’s “awards and meem show” I would’ve had Dennis send you one of his new “never give up” awards …

    Like

  6. Jeez Diane! I’m glad you’ve gotten a diagnosis so they can get started on some treatment. But what a sucky diagnosis…I’m so sorry. I hope you find that you have a mild form that responds well to treatment. I’m sure it’s been a real shock to try and absorb.

    I know you’ve spoiled Cosmo and Clover over the years, so I hope you’ll try not too feel guilty. They’ll be fine. I’m sure they are just reacting to your stress. Trying to show you they are there for you. A dog walker sounds like a great option. Unless of course you can get Clover to take up the job:D

    My thoughts are with you.

    Like

  7. oh my gosh! I’m so sorry to hear that! It’s too hot to walk the dogs now anyway! I hope the prelim “dx” is wrong!
    Thinking of you!

    Like

  8. Diane,

    I am sorry to read what you are going through. Two of my good friends have MS. One was diagnosed about 10 years ago at about age 30. The other I’m not sure b/c I just found out she has it. Both are on different medications and seem to respond fairly well to them. Let me know if I can help in any way. I am not too far away.

    Michele

    Like

  9. oh Dear. I must tell you though that I think that sometimes MS is overdiagnosed. I have known 2 people in the last 6 years who have had their MS diagnosis reversed. They both ended up having some type of infection that eventually went away. You are in my thoughts and prayers.

    Like

  10. Oh man…I’m so sorry to hear this. It’s been awhile since I’ve read your blog, darnit. No platitudes, just hope all goes well!

    Like

  11. Trust me, if Clover and Cosmo had the choice between taking a walk and just being with you, they’d rather be with you…….

    Like

Comments are closed.