barkwells / black / black labs / camera critters / dog / dog behavior / Dogs / labrador retriever / Labrador Retrievers / random

Thank goodness, they’re “Wash and Wear” Dogs

I may be one of the oddest people around.  I took a couple of days off from work, paid good money for a cabin rental, drove 8 hours to get here, and I really don’t care if it rains from now until the minute we leave for home.  The weather here in the Asheville area has been rainy since the moment we got here on Wednesday afternoon.  The rain is supposed to continue until Sunday morning, right around the time I pack the mutts and our junk into the car and head home.  You know what?  I could care less.  I’ve read two books, played cards on Pogo, enjoyed the hot tub, and gotten very wet in the rain with the dogs.  I’m even getting used to the wet dog smell that is permeating the cabin.  Ahhh.

Clover and Cosmo are pretty happy to be back here.  They have been in and out of the lake, up and down the deck stairs 2,000 times, and have been spotted under the bird feeder waiting for a cardinal to loose its footing and fall in their laps.  They have both tried to climb into the hot tub (no luck with that), and have been so worn out from chasing each other that they have collapsed on the floor to snore the night away.

clover-watching-the-rain

"I really need to get out there and chase those ducks away, NOW!"

"Why do you want to chase those ducks, again? Just leave them be, they haven't done anything to you."

"Why do you want to chase those ducks, again? Just leave them be, they haven't done anything to you."

Camera Critters

23 thoughts on “Thank goodness, they’re “Wash and Wear” Dogs

  1. Sometimes it’s just great to get away … even if it rains! Sounds like a blissful time to me. Looks like everyone had a good break.

    Like

  2. I can completely relate to what you are saying. They are calling for a big Winter storm here this weekend (yes, it’s Spring, but whatever). They were saying that it was going to start last night or this morning, so I decided that I was not going to risk it, and yesterday, I called the boss at my Saturday job and told him I wasn’t coming in. Now, here I sit, the weather hasn’t turned bad yet, but is preparing too – the winds are blowing like mad, and they are predicting hazardous driving conditions later today… and I don’t care, hehe, because I actually am going to have two days off of work to relax and get things done. Bring on those 10 inches of snow…

    I love your dogs and your captions for the photos. The “up and down the deck stairs 2,000 times” made me laugh out loud, because I can TOTALLY relate to that too!

    Like

  3. Cosmo and Clover are so beautiful! I love hearing about their antics with the hot tub and the bird feeder and chasing ducks. They sound like they’re having a blast! My sweet Annie would love to join them. Labs are AWESOME.

    Like

  4. They must have really firm buttock from all that running up and down the stairs now ;-)
    You are not alone in your madness. I love walking in the rain with our labs. Don’t know why.
    ;-) Great post.

    Like

    • I don’t know about their butt’s but I’m exhausted just from chasing them around the lake. C’mon rain, so I don’t feel guilty of sitting in front of the tv.

      Like

    • Yep! Asheville is great, and I love the place we stay near there, too. This was our third visit. And, wouldn’t you know it? The weather turned nice right about the time I started to load the car this morning. Ah well. Home safe and sound now.

      Like

  5. Sounds like you all had a great time – even with the rain. I actually love the rain.

    I also love a happy, well exercised dog that is so content he/she snores all night long… just as long as they are far enough away from my pillow ;)

    Beautiful dogs.

    Like

  6. SOunds like a very relaxing way to spend time. The rain always gives you he excuse to veg out. Like it.

    Like

Comments are closed.