comfort foods / cookbooks / cooking / recipes / southewestern food / tex-mex

Billy the Kid’s Chiles Rellenos Casserole

billythekidcookbookI found this recipe in a book called “Billy the Kid Cook Book” by Lynn Nusom.  With credit to Ms. Nusom, I have made this dish quite a few times, each time just a bit different.  It really is yummy just as it is written by the author, but sometimes you just have to tweak things based upon what’s in the fridge or cupboard or personal preferences, right?

Here is the original recipe:

8-10 whole long green chiles, roasted, peeled and seeded
2 cups shredded Montery Jack Cheese
2 eggs
2 cups of milk
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspon ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon oregano

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In the bottom of a lightly buttered casserole dish, arrange the chiles. Sprinkle cheese on top. Lightly beat eggs, then beat in flour, milk, salt, cumin, and oregano until smooth. Pour over cheese and bake for 45 to 50 minutes or until set and lightly browned. Serves 4-6.


Here’s my take on this yummy recipe:

  • I use green Poblano peppers that I buy at the Asian/Mexican market.  I roast them in the oven at 450 degrees until they are blackened and then I peel them and de-seed them.
  • If I don’t have Monterey Jack Cheese, I substitute whatever I have in the fridge.  It was very good with a combination of mozzarella, provolone, cheddar, and spicy Monterey Jack.
  • And, I made a mess of peeling the chilis one time, so I chopped them up into pieces instead of leaving whole.
  • I have used a combo of corn flour/white flour for a different taste.
  • I have also noticed that the fire meter on this goes from medium to extra special spicy all depending on the peppers.  The Poblanos that I’ve bought at Whole Foods seem much more mild than the ones from the Asian/Mexican market.

And, keeping with the theme of my blog: DO NOT feed this to your dogs.  You will be very sorry, and your dog(s) will make you pay for it.

5 thoughts on “Billy the Kid’s Chiles Rellenos Casserole

  1. I love Mexican cooking and Chili Rellenos. I love the taste of the peppers so dark and green. I enjoy the cheese melting inside the batter-dipped peppers that have been deep fried. Mexican rice, refried beans, salsa, tortilla chips, guacamole sauce and flan for dessert. I’m in hog-heaven!

    Like

Comments are closed.