comment contest / contest / cookbooks / cooking

Contest! Giveaway! Anyone Need A Cookbook? or Two? or Three? or …

** Comments Closed and the Winner Has Been Chosen !! “

I just realized that I haven’t haven’t had a give-away on the blog in a while, and thought I would launch one today! Its all about cookbooks around here, so how about I share a few (or more) with one lucky winner?

Here are the rules:

  • One Entry Per Person.cookbook-color
  • Post a comment here telling me (us) of your favorite Christmas memory.  It can be about your childhood, your children, your pets, a favorite relative’s bad behavior after drinking all of the egg nog, or a favorite meal you cooked or have eaten with family and friends.  (The requirements here are very loose and can consist of a “Merry Christmas” if that’s all you can muster.)
  • If you link back to me and announce this give-away on your blog, please let me know, and I will give you an extra two entries into the drawing.
  • Entries must be made by 10:00 p.m. on Saturday, December 13, 2008.
  • I will use the wonderful web tool, Random.Org to choose the winner and I will post the winner’s name on the blog Sunday, December 14.  I’ll contact the winner by e-mail.
  • Open to international readers, too!
  • UPDATE:  I have made a small change.  Anyone that comments and or links or posts the ASPCA VIDEO (CLICK HERE) on their blog will get two entries into the giveaway!
21 thoughts on “Contest! Giveaway! Anyone Need A Cookbook? or Two? or Three? or …

  1. I have so many wonderful Christmas memories, but many are bittersweet because they ended up being the last one I spent with loved ones. Things change so much as we get older. I remember as a child, Christmas didn’t officially start until we went to the candlelight Christmas eve services. They were in English and Swedish. I can still sing the songs and hear them. It’s not done that way anymore. All the old Swedish ladies and men have passed on and the younger people don’t know the language. So sad to lose that tradition. Now we rarely go. It’s too hard to remember what it was. I enjoy watching my children’s and my cousins’ children’s faces when they open their gifts from us. That makes the day for me. I’m at a point in life where I don’t need anything (except a lovely purple Dell laptop!!), so it’s all about giving now. Makes for a better holiday season. Shopping for just the perfect gift that I know will make the other person gasp and squeal is what makes me happy.

    Like

  2. My best memory of Christmas would have to be the year I got a Tiny Chatty Baby. I was five and I still have the doll. She no longer talks because one of the neighbor kids several years later saw fit to pull her string out.

    Like

  3. My mom’s aunt and uncle must have known that we were too poor to afford a Christmas tree, so they would alway pack a huge box with pine branches from their home (they lived in Northen Minnesota) and it would be delivered to our home. I can remember opening the box with my parents and the fragrance of the pine branches would fill the room. We would use these branches to decorate our home for the holidays.

    Like

  4. Hi I really don’t need a cook book I need a cook to use the book for me. LOL
    Every thing tastes better when some one else makes it for you. I have cooked so long I am ready to retire. But There is no replacement in site.
    So if you have a cook give away. I will be first in line.
    Have a great week and thanks for the invite.
    Grammy

    Like

  5. My parents always sought Christmas trees that looked like the ones they had when they were young. We therefore always had THE UGLIEST trees in town, tall and skinny with a foot between branches. How I wished for a long-needle pine with pink flocking!

    Like

  6. My most memorable moment was getting my engagement ring from my hubby. Everyone knew about it but me he presented it to me in a necklace box. I was totally surprised to see a small banner in with the ring that said “will you marry me”. He had asked my parents for permission to marry me.

    Like

  7. My favorite Christmas memories are of my whole family on my dad’s side getting together at Grandma’s house on Christmas eve.

    Like

  8. I was here earlier but I had to think about this one…then James and I were out walking and we were talking about Christmases past. One of my fondest memories was traveling to visit my Great Grandmother for Christmas. She and my Great Aunt lived together in a HUGE old 3 story house and they had a small aluminum Christmas tree that looked so big at the time…and she would decorate it with these really neat vintage ornaments….and have her milkman deliver iced fudge brownies for us kids to enjoy. I wish I could be a kid again….
    Hugs,
    Robin

    Like

  9. Roscoe says, My best Christmas memory is having a roof over my head, lots of foodies and love and warm blankies! Mom rescued me from the streets on December 23 2002, 2 days before Christmas! I did not have a home and was not taken care of, and she stopped traffic on a busy street, where I almost got hit by a big truck! She scooped me up, I was very scared and was going to run away from her, but something told me not too. The next thing I knew I was going for a car ride to my new house!

    Like

  10. Oh I love cookbooks — and so many of my Christmas memories involve food in one way or another. As a child we would go to my great-grandparents house each Christmas Eve and await Santa’s arrival. Before very late, Santa would appear and pass out oranges to each of us as a special treat. To this day, I think of Christmas each time I have an orange.

    Like

  11. My best Christmas memory was the year it snowed so much, no one could even get out of their houses. We spent ALL day in our pajamas, and didn’t leave the house until nighttime to shovel. We played with all of our gifts, it was a great holiday!

    Like

  12. merry christmas!! my favorite holiday memory (now) was when my dog opened up all of the presents under the tree far before christmas day!

    Like

  13. My favorite Christmas memories are made over and over every year, now that I’m a mom. My daughter will be 5 in January, and this is the first year that she’s really starting to get that twinkle in her eye when she talks about Christmas. I think this year will top them all.

    Like

  14. My favorite memories are when I was a child and our family would go to my dad’s side of the family on Christmas eve. One of the men would always dress up as santa and all the kids thought santa had arrived and brought presents.

    Like

  15. My favorite memories are baking with my grandmothers. They’re gone now and it’s just not the same without hearing the stories.

    I hope everyone has a safe, healthy, and happy holiday season!

    Like

  16. When I was 7, my uncle took a mounted deer head from my grandparents attic and paraded its antlers across the windows in the living room, I believed they were santa’s reindeer visiting for a few years until I figured it out…

    Like

Comments are closed.