barking / black labs / dog / dog anxiety / Dogs / fall / labrador retriever / Labrador Retrievers / Life / Pets / random / road trip / seasons / travels with the dog

Tail Splitting Vacation in the Blue Ridge Mountains

The leaves are starting to turn colors. This was taken yesterday on the Blue Ridge Parkway outside of Asheville near Mt. Pisgah

Clover here.  A quick update.  We made it.  The drive wasn’t too bad, your woman stopped a couple of times to let us out and walk around and use the facilities.  Cosmo was a real pain and he wouldn’t let me stretch out in the back seat, so I sat up most of the way.  I didn’t mind too much because I like to look out the window.  Note to Cosmo: no cheese or eggs for you the day before a road trip.  You stink.

Cosmo here.  How many times do I have to tell you, it wasn’t me?  The Barker is right.  Up and out of the house by 6:30 a.m. and we were set free at our favorite North Carolina lake by 3:30 p.m.  Woohoo!  (Note to all:  I have hidden the life preserver.  There are a lot of other dogs around and I don’t want anyone to know I’m a dork.)

Your woman here.  They’re right.  The drive was easy and uneventful.  The weather was perfect and the traffic wasn’t bad at all.  After we checked in, the two maniacs chased each other around the yard and up and down the deck stairs and back again.  After I unpacked, they took a dip in the lake and barked at everything that moved.  Our cabin is next to the property office which also happens to have a huge chicken coop in the yard.  Oh. Boy.  Another thing for Clover to bark at.

I’ve mentioned before about Clover’s “happy tail” issues.  She wags her tail constantly.  And, on occasion I’ve had to wrap her tail because she hits something so hard that she splits the end of her tail open.  At the moment, its just bruised and not bleeding too badly, so the wrap is pretty pathetic.  Its really only there to keep things from getting worse.  On the Clover Tail Meter, this vacation is a 10.

8 thoughts on “Tail Splitting Vacation in the Blue Ridge Mountains

  1. Oh, I’m so glad you all had a great time!! Beautiful photos…well except for the tail one!tehe. Did Cosomo swim at all?

    Hi Lisa! He flopped around and splashed like a little kid on the shore … made a few nosedives after missteps, but never really “went for it.” I’m keeping them out of the water today, and will give it one more try tomorrow. They’re both so tired today, they can hardly move!

    Take care!

    Like

  2. Haha, they sound like they can be a handful. What sweeties. Hope Clover is doing well. I also have a happy tail wagger who once thumped so hard with his tail that it swelled into a lump and required surgery.

    Like

  3. Now I’m all nostalgic for our trip to Asheville!

    I’ve heard that undocked vizslas often have tail problems because of the constant wagging and smacking against stuff. Hope Clover’s tail heals up fast!

    Like

Comments are closed.