cooking / cooking challenge / italian food / Life / recipes

Road Map for Simple Lunch or Dinner: Goat Cheese & Sun Dried Tomato Pasta

I am sharing this recipe (as it is) with you all because it is one of my favorites.  I’m not sure where I got it from, or when I first made it, so sorry-o to the originator.  Its mine now!  And, since its mine, it really is a road map for a meal and not a recipe.

Simple Lunch or Dinner Pasta with Goat Cheese and Sun Dried Tomatoes

1 box of Barilla Pasta (shells, bow tie, corkscrew – any kind you like – just not spaghetti or linguini because it will glump together.)

1 bag of Arugula or Baby Spinach Leaves or a mixture of both.  Even though the bag says its “washed three times” … rinse it anyway.  (I even used a bag of mixed lettuce once, and it worked!)

6-8 ounces (or a small log) of creamy goat cheese.  I like the goat cheese from Trader Joe’s.  Just because. You can use whatever brand you can find or like.  My dad doesn’t like the taste of goat cheese, so when I made this dish for him, I used cream cheese instead.

Sun Dried Tomatoes in Oil.  You need a little of the oil that clings to the tomatoes so don’t rinse them off.  And you can use as much or as little of the tomatoes as you like.  If you don’t have sun dried tomatoes, you could always use a couple of nice fresh tomatoes all diced up.  But it really is better with the sun dried tomatoes – the flavor is more intense.

Grated Parmasean.  (And, I don’t care if it comes from the green shaker jar.  This dish needs some parm if that’s all you have, use it.)  Not a lot, just a good sprinkling.  Maybe a tablespoon or two or three.  Depends on how much you like Parmasean.

Ok.  So here goes:

  • Cook the pasta in salted water.  When the pasta is cooked, drain the pasta but save some of the cooking water for later.
  • Put the cooked/drained pasta directly into your serving bowl.
  • Mix in the bag of greens.  The heat from the pasta will wilt the greens.  They will be al dente by the time you sit down to eat.
  • Crumble the goat cheese on top of the pasta.
  • Add the sun dried tomatoes
  • Top with fresh ground pepper, and some parmasean cheese.  You can also add some fresh basil leaves if you have them.

If the dish is really dry, I add some of the pasta water to the dish and toss again.  This will help thin out the cheese and make it a little saucier.  Er, sauced.  Uhm, whatever.

Toss.

Serve.

Eat.

Lick you lips.

Don’t share with the dogs.  The goat cheese will make them gassy.

And, if there is any left, its wonderful cold.

5 thoughts on “Road Map for Simple Lunch or Dinner: Goat Cheese & Sun Dried Tomato Pasta

  1. hello twobarkingdogs its dennis the vizsla dog hay i object to this unfownded akyoozashun of gassiness i hav never been gassy in my whole BRAAAAAAAPPPPPPPP!!!!!

    oh deer me nevr mind ok bye

    Like

  2. Pingback: Need some tips on cooking.. I'm a noob chef (:

Comments are closed.