barking / black labs / dog / Dogs / humor / Labrador Retrievers / Life / Pets / storms / weather

Wild Weather Wacky Dogs

The weather that came through Northern Virginia and Maryland yesterday afternoon was wild! As I was about ready to get ready for work around 2:30 p.m., Clover jumped up off the floor, looked around and flew up the stairs and headed straight for her closet. Cosmo jumped up on the back of the couch so he could look out the window easily, then came running over to me, barked at me, ran around the living room, up the stairs to the bedroom, barking crazily (totally out of character). It kept getting darker outside and then all of a sudden the wind and the rain, and the thunder and lightning. I could hear tree branches breaking outside, a couple of large branches went flying by the window, and I closed all the shades and unplugged the computer and the television, too.

By the time I got upstairs, Clover was lying on her dog bed in the bath tub (don’t ask), Cosmo was sitting on the floor in the bathroom looking around and woofling. So, I joined them, and we waited the storm out in the bathroom together. I have become accustomed to Clover’s antics when it storms and can pretty much predict her behavior, I even anticipated her discomfort by medicating her earlier in the day. I was pretty shocked by Cosmo’s behavior as he is usually so calm no matter what the circumstances. 

We sat out the worst of the storm, which seemed like forever but was probably only 20 minutes. All the while thinking, my dogs as wacky as they are, are pretty good at predicting the weather. They heard the storm coming, and ran like hell to hide.  Me, too.

9 thoughts on “Wild Weather Wacky Dogs

  1. Poor babies! I am sure that the storm was scary!!! We had one a couple of weeks ago that was similar, very unusual for So. calif, but it lasted several hours! Did the bed get into the bathtub via dog or human? LOL!

    Like

  2. canyon cottage Says:
    Poor babies! I am sure that the storm was scary!!! We had one a couple of weeks ago that was similar, very unusual for So. calif, but it lasted several hours! Did the bed get into the bathtub via dog or human? LOL!

    I confess. I put the pillow/bed in the tub for her so she can be comfortable!

    Like

  3. We’ve always watched our dogs reactions to bad weather, some animals are sensitive to it and actually serve as warnings. Not my two! They literally slept through a forming tornado over my house a few weeks back. And again last night when the sirens sounded about midnight. One of them only woke up because I tripped over him on the way to our safe spot!

    Like

  4. Lisa – All of a sudden one day, Clover decided that when it stormed she wanted someplace safer than her closet, so she started lying in the bath tub. I never coaxed her, she just decided that that was her place to hid from the storm. I started putting her pillow/bed in the tub when I leave the house so she doesn’t scratch up the tub, because apparently, digging a hole in the tub is important to staying safe in a storm.
    D.

    (p.s. I stole the raincoat picture off the internet .. but it is pretty funny!)

    Like

  5. That was a horrible storm! I was at work when it hit. We also always look to our dogs to predict these type of storms. The Shepherds ears go to “Full Alert” mode, then she starts pacing and crying, and trying to squeeze in between the toilet and sink in the powder room! LOL poor baby!

    Like

  6. Aren’t doggies funny? And cats. My cat hides under the sofa at the first sound of thunder. I tried to get him out to take him with me to our “safe place” when we had a tornado warning recently, but he dug in and would not be moved. I guess the sofa was as safe as the bathroom. Smart kitty.

    Like

Comments are closed.