cheap gas / fuel shortage / Life / NASCAR / price of gas / road trip / saving gas / saving money

The Price of Gas is On My Mind and On My Charge Card

Someone recently e-mailed me a link to an interesting web site MSN Auto that will help you find cheap gas by zip codes. So, I plugged in my zip code and found cheap(er) gas about 15 minutes away that would take me about 30 minutes to get to. The three or four cents per gallon savings is wiped out by the gas I would have to use to get there and back, along with the 45 to 60 minutes of my time wasted in traffic. Kind of defeats the whole purpose!

Another web page that I’ve used with success and have contributed to from time-to-time is Gas Buddy.

I share these because I am sure that everyone is feeling the pinch these days, and it doesn’t look like its going to get any better. On the news today, it sounded like gloom and doom with the possibility of rolling brown-outs this summer when we all crank up the air conditioning. As if $4.00/plus a gallon isn’t enough of a hint of bad things to come!

Back in the 1970s, during the Arab Oil Embargo and the Energy Crisis, the US Government enacted a Country-wide 55 mph speed limit in hopes of saving fuel. There was rationing based upon the numbers in your license plates. I remember one gas station that would only sell on certain days at certain times to certain people (loyal customers). I do not remember sitting in a long line like they did in California, but I did sell my gas guzzling 1966 Mustang and replaced it with a 1967 Toyota Corona. (Stupid Stupid Stupid!)

I recently saw an article about the price of gasoline around the world. The Netherlands has the most expensive at over $9.00/gal. The UK was right up there along with a lot of other car-happy European nations. The cheapest gas was in Argentina and Nigeria. Now, I lived in Nigeria for 3 1/2 years and I’m not going back just because of the cheap fuel.

So, what’s next for us? Rationing? Slower speeds? More fuel efficient vehicles? Will NASCAR start charging their fans a fuel surcharge? A run on locking gas caps? Another stupid government slogan “Don’t be Fuelish”? Does anyone in charge really care?

5 thoughts on “The Price of Gas is On My Mind and On My Charge Card

  1. Great post! The ever rising gas prices is a really sore spot in our lives. We make our living in a business that is hightly affected by the price of fuel and it’s getting to be a problem.
    Take care!

    Jan

    Like

  2. I’ve actually been considering getting a locking gas cap. Sad, isn’t it? As for Nigeria, I hear you can make a killing collecting millions in unclaimed bank deposits there …

    Like

  3. ehg. We are still doing sales, but the gas prices really do stink. Thanks for you wondering words on our blog. You have mixed 2 of my favorite things. Sales and dogs!

    Like

Comments are closed.